Posted by: shawnjohnston | October 16, 2007

What I’ve Been Doing

OKAAAAAAYYY.

So I can see that I’m still getting some traffic here and some of my checker-outers might have wondered where all my posting went.

Well I’ve been developing a Gnostic version of the Divine Hours. What are those you ask? The Divine Hours, or Divine Office, is a monastic tradition (though used by laity as well) wherein you recite and pray a series of readings, prayers and intentions 7 times a day.

With the resurgence of  contemplative practices, there are been many modernized versions of the Divine Office and a few have truncated it down to 4 times, those being: Morning, Afternoon, Evening, and before bedtime time. This is what I’ve done, it’s just easier for those of us with careers and kids, and still serves the function it was intended.

Over the next little while I’m going to be delving in depth into what contemplative practices are all about and where we can hope they will lead us. I will share some excerpts of what I’ve developed and after a bit of test-driving, I will share the smaller version (one week cycle) with you all.

The larger version  (31 day cycle) is more robust and less repetitive and will be available as well though I’m debating whether I will post it to Lulu.com for a nominal fee (it’s quite big and printing it on your computer at home will be largely infeasible). I guess we’ll see how folks dig the smaller version and go from there 🙂

Peace

Responses

  1. Shawn, I would be very interested in this. This might be a great thing for our Order of monks and nuns.


Leave a Reply

Categories

